Is BYOB legal in New York State?
No, BYOB (Bring Your Own Bottle) is generally not legal in New York State. Applicants awaiting a liquor license may jeopardize their chances for approval for permitting such practices.
Does BYOB require a license?
BYOB restaurants are typically those that do not have a license to sell alcohol, so the establishment permits guests to bring their own drinks. … This may happen at restaurants that have a limited liquor, beer, or wine selection or that offer some drinks, such as beer and cider, but do not offer a wine selection.
Can you charge for BYOB?
Los Angeles: The state of California only allows BYOB at restaurants with liquor licenses. There are no regulations on corkage fees that licensed restaurants can charge.
Do you need a liquor license for private party NYC?
To sell alcohol to your guests, you either need a license under the New York Alcoholic Beverage Control Law or you need to hire a licensed caterer. Note that, for a variety of reasons, licenses are not generally available for alcohol to be sold at a private residence.
How much is a liquor license in NY?
|Liquor Store (L)||$4,098||$200|
|Wine Store (W)||$1,920||$100|
|Drug Store Beer (DS)||$330||$100|
|Grocery Store Beer (A)||$660||$100|
Can you buy beer on Sunday in NY?
The New York State Liquor Authority (or “SLA”) allows a liquor/wine store to open and sell alcohol to the public Monday through Saturday until midnight. On Sundays, a liquor/wine store can sell only from noon until 9:00 p.m. Grocery stores and drug stores cannot sell beer on Sundays from 3:00 a.m. until noon.
Can any business be BYOB?
No you can’t. Most BYOB Restuarants typically don’t have alcohol licenses – therefore they offer BYOB as a way to still allow customers to drink alcohol without having to buy it directly from them. They’re a business at the end of the day and still need to make money.
Can you BYO spirits?
It is illegal for a person to supply liquor to a minor in a BYO restaurant. This applies to staff and patrons unless the person is the parent or the guardian of the minor. … It is illegal for a minor to drink liquor in a BYO restaurant (unless authorised by their accompanying parent / guardian).
Do places Card BYOB?
Not usually, but they can, and they have every right to not allow you to drink there if you are not of age. If they ask for ID and you don’t provide it, they can tell you to leave or not allow you to drink whatever booze you brought.
What do I need to bring to BYOB?
In a typical BYOB restaurant, the eatery serves only non-alcoholic beverages and food. Guests can then bring their beer, liquor, or wine and pour their own alcoholic drinks. Check your local laws for restrictions on what type of alcohol your guests can bring in.
Is corkage per bottle or person?
It may vary from a charge per person (regardless of whether they drink the wine or not) or per bottle. With rates varying from $1.50 per person to as high as $50 per bottle, it’s important that you ask about corkage rates when you make the reservation at the restaurant.
What is corkage free?
What Does Free Corkage Mean? Free corkage means the bar or restaurant has a corkage policy. And it costs no money. They allow guests to bring in their own fine wines and they commit to performing wine service, but they don’t charge a fee for it.