Can you buy alcohol on Christmas in CT?

Can you buy alcohol on Christmas Day in Connecticut?

Connecticut. The nutmeg state bans booze sales on Christmas Day, New Year’s Day and Thanksgiving. Bars and restaurants continue to serve.

Do they sell alcohol on Christmas Day?

It’s illegal for retailers to sell wine and liquor on Christmas Day and New Year’s Day. All sales of liquor are against the law on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day. The ban extends to the following Monday if Christmas and New Year’s Day are on Sunday.

What holidays can you buy alcohol in CT?

The Department of Consumer Protection’s Liquor Control Division is reminding Connecticut residents that hours for some liquor permittees change on holidays: Package stores must be closed on Christmas Day, and on New Year’s Day. Stores are allowed to be open until 10 p.m. on Mondays through Saturdays.

What holidays are liquor stores closed in Connecticut?

Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection

Package stores must be closed on Christmas Day, and on New Year’s Day. Bars must be closed by 3am on New Year’s Day morning.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Question: Does alcohol taste better as you age?

Can you buy beer on Christmas in CT?

This Christmas might be the year that you and your family drink through your alcohol stash.

Can You Buy Alcohol on Christmas?

State Alcohol? Notes
Connecticut No
Delaware No
Florida Yes
Georgia Some Varies by county

Are liquor stores open on holidays in CT?

The Department of Consumer Protection’s Liquor Control Division is reminding Connecticut residents that hours for some liquor permittees change on holidays: Package stores must be closed on Christmas Day, and on New Year’s Day. Stores are allowed to be open until 10 p.m. on Mondays through Saturdays.

Can supermarkets sell alcohol?

You need to be over 18 to sell alcohol. So if you go to a Tesco or other supermarket, pick a checkout where the assistant looks over 18 or you will have to wait for a supervisor to OK the sale. Wine is sold at all large chain grocery stores but if you’re looking at much smaller stores then you’ll need an off licence.

What states sell alcohol 24 hours?

List by state

State Alcoholic beverage control state Alcohol sale hours
Beer On-premises
Idaho No 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m., 2:00 a.m. in some counties
Illinois No Depending on local government; 24-hour bars are permitted in Cicero; a handful of 21-22 hour bars exist in Cook County, and the Metro East.
Indiana No 7 a.m.–3 a.m.

What is the legal status of alcohol?

In the United States, the minimum legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages is 21 years of age; the two exceptions are Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands where the age is 18. The legal drinking age varies by state.

THIS IS FUNNING:  Can we carry alcohol to Kerala 2019?

Why is alcohol not sold on Sundays?

Many states prohibit selling alcohol for on and off-premises sales in one form or another on Sundays at some restricted time, under the idea that people should be in church on Sunday morning, or at least not drinking. … Blue laws may also prohibit retail activity on days other than Sunday.

How early can you buy alcohol in CT?

Package stores may sell from 8 a.m. until 10 p.m. Mondays through Saturdays. They may sell from 10 a.m. until 6 p.m. on Sundays. Restaurants and bars serve alcohol from 9 a.m. to 1 a.m. Monday through Thursday, and 9 a.m. until 2 a.m. on Friday and Saturday.